Surreal

How much easier would it be
to shed this skin, trade limbs for wings,
so I could fly with the birds…to be just
as close as they are to the voice of life
sent down from above and carried on the wind.

Or trade my feet for fins and dive into His
ocean deep, swim with the rulers of the sea,
tuning into the secrets that they have been
given for safe keep.

Instead, I am me, and thankfully I am blessed
with you…the only one who, when I say, all
the lines are skewed today, understands my
point of view.

You know what I mean when I say that the shadows
are deep, smiles are underdeveloped, and words
are riddles. You are my real in a world that
always feels surreal.

V

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

