Response

What do I want for my birthday?
Time to be slow,
to spread the colors I see
across the hearts of my cherished three,
and revel in the masterpiece that is my family.
Time for all the hugging I can get, since time
has not slowed their growing as I asked it yet.
For laughter over evening games won and lost, and
listening deeply without considering sleep a cost.
What do I want for my birthday?
To know you and them inside out,
and that you all know my love for you
beyond a shadow of a doubt.
Time for slow breakfasts,
lingering cups of coffee
and you reading poetry.
Time to love you as my heart wants,
with each sunrise and sunset, breathing you in
like when we first met.
Time for celebrating how far we’ve come,
yet still making each day a new beginning.
For just being in the moments we share…
because I am so afraid of empty chairs.

V

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Response

  1. This was a beautiful post. I especially loved the ending. “I am so afraid of empty chairs”. I know where you were coming from there.

  2. vgarrison77 says:

    agreed! have a blessed evening ā¤

Leave a Reply

