Photograph

This is part of a word of the day challenge that I will do my best to take part in! Today’s word was august

I have this photograph of you…
one of my favorites.
I have it displayed where I can see it every day.
With every glance memories still flood my mind.

I have this photograph of you…
Your eyes sparkle, and I am always drawn to the wrinkles of happiness
at the corners of your eyes and the dimple in your cheek.

Some days I stare longer searching my memory for the sound of your voice.
I hear you asking me if I will still love you when you are old and grey.
And I thought, what a question! Of course, I will always love you daddy!

I have this photograph of you, one of my favorites. We never got to share
those days of old and grey that you spoke of. Your passing is one that, for me, I
don’t think the healing hands of time can reach.
But I cherish this photograph where every day I can still take in your (august) smile.

V

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

